Home > Places > Proud to be Kenyan!

Proud to be Kenyan!

In this post I choose to be optimistic. I choose to see the glass as half full.

Kenya harbors some of the most talented people in the world. If you don’t believe me, you wait till the Olympics kick off. You will believe me as you watch Kenyans sweep medal after medal. You will believe me as you watch our Kenyan Athletes stand majestically on the podium as our National Anthem is played over and over again. If you’re not a Kenyan and you’re frowning at this, you will believe me in a week or so when you find yourself humming the Kenyan National Anthem as you take a shower in the morning.

Our Kenyan athletes make us so proud. The epitome of a proud moment is when Ezekiel Kemboi won gold in the 300m steeplechase in Daegu then took off his shirt and exposed his skinny frame before proceeding to do a comical jig. I imagine ‘a great feeling’ is not a good enough description of the feeling that goes with being the best in the world. Heck some of us never became number one in a class of a few guys let alone win anything noteworthy. These Kenyans top the whole damn world! Isn’t that awesome or what?

My pal toured Brazil after winning the Guinness Football Challenge and he came back with a very interesting tale. He told me that one evening as they were strolling about, some Brazilians walked up to them and asked where they were from. On revealing that they were Kenyans, the Brazilians were so excited that they called their compatriots to come over and meet these Kenyans. The thrilled Brazilians then challenged our boys to a sprint. A Brazilian guy won the race and from what my pal told me, the guy leapt in joy. He was ecstatic. He couldn’t believe he had outrun a bunch of Kenyans (Albert, kutuangusha hivi). Dude was in a state of euphoria. That could as well be the proudest moment of his life. I am sure he found a new pick up line as of that day. That story alone is enough to get him into the Brazilian national athletics team.

That’s how proud our athletes make us whenever they outrun everyone else on the track. By the way what’s up with those snail-paced folks that get overlapped before the whole world? Are these folks really the best in their countries or were they selected randomly – maybe based on how long their legs are? How do you even go to an international event to get humiliated like that? Have you seen the look on their faces as a Kenyan whooshes past them (for a second time)? If look closely the look says, “What the hell dude my wife and kids are watching!” Jeez man if someone was so mean as to overlap me at the grand Olympics I would reach over and smack him so hard at the back of his head he would turn around and start running in the opposite direction.

Team Kenya, make us proud in London!

Right here in Kenya we have a spectacle that is one of the Seven Wonders of The World! I am talking about the spectacle that is the Annual Wildebeest Migration. I am still not sure why people enjoy watching hapless wildebeests getting their asses bitten off by vicious crocs. I guess humans are naturally sadistic. But no one can argue that watching this phenomenon leaves your jaw hanging just above your thighs. By the way those wildebeests are either extremely starved or extremely dumb! I wouldn’t dare step into that water if I was promised free supply of KFC chicken for the rest of my life. Those crocs are so damn huge and they don’t mess around! Anyway the fact that Kenya features in the Seven Wonders is enough to make us very proud of our motherland.

Any journalist worth his salt already knows that Kenyan journalists are topnotch. Last week our Journalists made us proud by bagging numerous awards at the 2012 CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards. Not only did two Kenyans (Tom Mboya and Evanson Nyaga) bag the top prize, several others went ahead to win in various categories including the Sport Award won by Waihiga Mwaura and Jepitha Mwai Mwangi; the Television News Bulletin Award won by Nimrod Taabu and Charles Kinyua and the HIV/AIDS Reporting Award won by John Muchangi Njiru! Our boys ran the show in Zambia and we are so very proud of them. These folks do not do guess work in front of the camera/print.

Did you know that our very own Tusker has won fifteen gold medals at the prestigious Monde Selection International Beer Awards. Tusker Lager is brewed right here in Kenya using the highest quality malted barley grown in the scenic Kenyan Rift Valley. It’s no surprise that you will see a tourist enjoying his tusker at 9am in the morning. As a matter of fact, Sainsbury’s, the third largest chain of supermarkets in the United Kingdom stocks the famed drink. In a bid to support our local brand, I propose employers approve that on Fridays we are served Tusker instead of the 4PM tea.

The blooming of mobile money in Kenya is also a source of national pride. It has given our country a remarkable global profile. Even Hillary Clinton wondered why this “brilliant innovation” is not available in the USA. Some time back, MIT researcher Nathan Eagle regaled the audience at some conference with tales of technical innovation from East Africa. “Kenya has some mobile phone services that are years ahead of what we have right now,” he said. If you doubted that we have brilliant people in Kenya, now you know. There are approximately 60 million mobile-money users in the world meaning almost 1 in every 3 is a Kenyan, and half of all these mobile money transactions take place in Kenya.

God knows I love my country. I really do. But the truth is that Kenya is no utopia. We still have a very long way to go. Here’s to hoping we can all work toward building our country and making it a better place. Joey is proud to be Kenyan!

  1. Anonymous
    July 25, 2012 at 10:15 am

    Loving the patriotism Joey, but as usual humor never misses’I propose employers approve that on Fridays we are served Tusker instead of the 4PM tea.” ha ha ha ur pushing ur luck right there nway im truly proud to be Kenyan!

    • July 25, 2012 at 4:54 pm

      You don’t think that’s a viable proposal? I going to need all the support I can get…

  2. July 25, 2012 at 11:41 am

    employers should totally have tusker instead of the the 4pm tea …………..love the article makes one forget the other buggers who r nt patriotic but give this country a bad name.

    • July 25, 2012 at 4:56 pm

      I am glad you got the point Mini!

  3. no.1 fan
    July 25, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    never really figured u loved kenya that much..u surprise me…..just dont go loving skinny jeans 🙂

    • July 25, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      Yap, I love my country! You’re more likely to catch me strolling in my boxers than in skinny jeans.

  4. July 25, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    I feel the urge to stand up and salute something…. 🙂

    • July 25, 2012 at 4:58 pm

      Haha! And what is this something?

  5. Anonymous
    July 26, 2012 at 4:23 am

    You mean your employer serves you tea at 4 p.m tea????

    This reminds me of a couple months ago when my co-workers tried to register me for a marathon involuntarily assuming that I would be up for it because “I am Kenyan”. Trying to explain that I am not Kenyan did not help a bit. They were convinced that if you grew up in Kenya you should be able to run. I told them that there are two types of African’s: those who run & those who do not & was definitely in the later category…
    Glad kuona uliacha uzembe!
    Great post.

    • July 26, 2012 at 3:46 pm

      What’s with the anonymity Sarah? Haha, two types of Africans? Really? If I ever find myself in such a situation I’ll say I injured my metatarsal sometime back while training with Kemboi.

  6. July 26, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Kenyan and Proud, cant run to save my life thou.

    • July 26, 2012 at 3:47 pm

      Hey Sly, nice to see you here. We hereby conclude that running is not for everyone!

  7. Cynthia
    July 26, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    uuuuh!nice article! i wish all Kenyans appreciated the good that exists in our country and rally behind every initiative for the good of Kenya at large!!!

  8. Suzie
    July 26, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    Speaking of patriotism,I really appreciate your blog which I have been reading since its inception.

    • July 27, 2012 at 8:29 am

      Thanks Suzie, nice to see you came out of the shadows 🙂

  9. TheObserver
    July 26, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    Quite on point.Its always good to know that there are dedicated Kenyans working their asses off just to make us proud of our African land….save for some stupid con-men masquerading as pastors!!!! Good one Joey….n by the road,don’t forget that you are Kenyan and making us proud with these good-reads too…:-)

  10. Albert
    July 27, 2012 at 11:09 am

    haha! just come across your blog by accident, big up for the mention. Back in Brazil everyone was asking if I had come to run a marathon true that our runners make us proud!

    • July 27, 2012 at 11:17 am

      Nice to see you here Albo! You should have said you picked up an injury while training for the World Championships.
      We should have a drink soon man…

  11. Linda
    August 15, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    Hi! My name is Linda and I am proud to have been born and bred right here in motherland Kenya! Can I brag that I met Tom Mboya (I was with a pal with whom they had worked together) after he won that award. He was glowing like a pregnant woman…lol!! But there are so many other things that should always remind us that this a great country!! We need to protect its sanctity especially now that we are in an election period and some few selfish individuals would like to take advantage for their own good!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

