Home > People > MY MOTHER’S DAY

MY MOTHER’S DAY

It is 9pm on Sunday, just got home, my team has lost the EPL title, but I feel great. I feel great because I spent the afternoon with my mommy. On Saturday night she called and said that she’d missed me and asked if I could visit her the following day. For a minute there I considered telling her that I had already made plans. See I like spending my Sundays indoors so I can just eat, sleep, watch movies and sleep some more. But my conscience was eating me. I knew Sunday was Mother’s Day and the least I could do for my mommy was spend time with her. So I asked her if she will be cooking chicken.

I didn’t go to see my mom because she cooks finger-licking chicken; I went because I feel indebted to her. There’s no doubt that I would not be half the man I am were it not for my mom. Her affection, her belief in me, her kind words and her painful pinches shaped and moulded me. My mom has been there for me ever since I came into this world. She has loved me unconditionally. She has seen the worst of me and still stood by my side. She sees the good in me and appreciates it. I had to go and see my mom simply because she is my mother.

I walk with confidence because I know she can never fall asleep before praying for me. My mom is a pious woman. She has such unwavering faith in God. I’m sure whenever God looks at her He can’t help but smile. There are times I feel like my prayers are weak and the farthest they go is two floors up then they drop. But the fact that my mom puts in a good word for me is comforting. It makes me feel invincible. It makes me fearless. Where would we be without our mothers.

My mom believes in me exceedingly. She thinks there are no limits to what I can accomplish. There are times when she says things and I wonder if she’s talking about me or some imaginary child. I even try to read her face to see if she’s just talking for the sake of it, but the conviction in her eyes says it all. You cannot convince my mom that I am not nearly as smart as she thinks I am. She should have seen me at that Cisco boot camp last week. I was clueless. I imagine that’s how Lady Gaga would look if she opened her eyes and she was in church – utterly confused. My mom has been my greatest source of inspiration.

My mom has always been on my side. This one time in Primary school I used foul language on a fellow student and the teacher overheard. What ensued was a beating of a lifetime. The teacher took me to the staffroom and released all his life’s frustrations on my tiny behind. When my folks got home from work and I told them what had transpired, my mom decided it was a Police case! Even I thought that was a little extreme. But she wanted full retribution to whoever harmed her son. That’s my mommy!

There are unique qualities I see in my mom that make me admire her a great deal. Mommy is the calmest person you will ever meet. She does not panic. She never loses her cool. Even in the face of adversity she is always calm and collected. We have gone through misfortunes as a family, but even in loss, my mom was always the pillar. She has this angelic side in her that is just amazing. She has a way of expressing herself coupled with a warm smile that is simply assuring and comforting.

Earlier this year thugs broke into their home. They went into their bedroom and scared the life out of them. I visited them the next day and my mom would laugh as she told me how shaken she was the moment she saw some blood-thirsty, machete wielding strangers entering her bedroom in the dark of the night. They had taken cash, laptop and phones among other valuables, but she could still afford a smile the following day. If I were there that night I would probably have started wailing hysterically. But my mom remained cool. The hooligans left them unharmed.

My mom has a big heart. There’s never a time in her life when she’s not trying to help someone. I’ve seen countless people (including relatives) turn their backs on her as soon as they can stand on their own feet again. But my mom would move on and find someone else to lend a hand. There’s a time I even asked her why she even bothers helping people. She said she does not do it so as to get gratitude. She does it because God expects her to do it.

I do not talk to my mom as often as I should. There are times I go for more than a week without calling her and she calls and asks if her son still exists. I take things for granted and I do not say some things that I ought to say to her. My mom loves to sing. She’s been singing ever since I can remember. I do not pay much attention to her singing though. But during my sister’s wedding she sang so beautifully and for the first time I told her that I loved her performance. Even though she’s been told that countless times, she was so elated when I complimented her that she hugged me tight. That’s when I realized I needed to up my game.

All said and done, your mother will always be an icon in your life. You are the most important thing in her life. You are invaluable to her. Some of us find it difficult to show our mothers just how much we appreciate them. We go home with a bagful of groceries, damp it on the table and that’s as far as it goes. Try uttering a few words of appreciation and see how her face lightens up. She deserves to know. She deserves to hear you say it. After all she’s done for you, it’s the least you could do. She is the only mother you have. The only one you will ever have. The sad truth is, one day you will wake up and she will not be there; or you will not be there.

Categories: People
  1. Sikalili
    May 14, 2012 at 8:55 am

    sometimes we are too caught up in our own lives that we forget to appreciate our moms if it was up to me mothers day would be every day anyway good read as always Joey

  2. thatguy
    May 14, 2012 at 9:43 am

    boss that is a sobering, thought provoking and a simply “MOMMY” in a few words. ASANTI!

    • May 16, 2012 at 8:36 am

      Hope you didn’t call your mommy while crying.

  3. May 14, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    How about you send this to your mum? Or this blog is still top secret….at least to your mum?:)

    • May 16, 2012 at 8:38 am

      Yep… it’s still classified. She has to be prepped psychologically before seeing some articles.

  4. Anonymous
    May 15, 2012 at 7:58 am

    smeome is getting al mushy..

    • May 16, 2012 at 8:39 am

      A little mushiness for your mommy is acceptable.

  5. Linda
    May 16, 2012 at 9:46 am

    Quite mushy Joel 🙂 Mothers are a miracle, a blessing and a piece of God all rolled up in one. May God keep my mummy many more years, I would be lost without her.

  6. Newest fan
    June 22, 2012 at 1:19 am

    Moving

  7. Liberty
    August 21, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    Aaaawwww i hope she read this!!! In hindsight though,isin’t it weird for a grown ass man to call his mom ‘mummy’????Just wondering………

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

