Home > Uncategorized > THE AVENGERS ON IMAX!!!

THE AVENGERS ON IMAX!!!

I feel compelled to write a post in honor of this impeccable movie, The Avengers, and the mind-boggling technology that is IMAX. The Avengers on that monstrous 3D screen is the most remarkable thing I’ve ever set my eyes on. I am grateful to the Almighty for allowing me to live long enough to see this spectacle. The angels definitely deserve a big high-five. If you haven’t watched the movie, don’t panic. There won’t be any spoilers in this post. If you have, you will get what I’m trying to say here.

I am not the biggest fan of marvels. In fact, I wouldn’t have gone to watch The Avengers if it were not for my colleagues who had gone all hysterical since seeing the trailer a few months back. For once I am glad I can be easily swayed. My high school Social Studies teacher needs to be told that peer-pressure is not such a bad thing. The experience you get in the two and a half hours spent in that cinema theatre is something out of this world.

I have been looking forward to the IMAX experience for a long time. Three years ago my pal who lives in Canada made me believe that IMAX is the best thing to have happened to the universe since bacon. I expected to be stupefied by that huge screen and the amazing 3D experience. I however didn’t expect much out of the movie The Avengers. I thought it was just another flick where hero beats the crap out of villain and saves the day – Nothing I haven’t see in Power Puff girls. But *insert favorable curse* that movie is out of this world, and IMAX technology takes the movie to another level!

As soon as we took our sits in the theatre and the screen opened, we all put on the huge glasses. The first trailer was on 2D and I remember my pal going like, “Umph I don’t see any difference.” Then right after the trailer, there’s a message on the screen that reads, “You may now put on your glasses.” I quickly took off mine then took put them back on slowly. They just had to make us feel dumb, didn’t they? But I forgive them.

That’s when it all begins. The first trailer is for the movie Spiderman. He jumps off the roof of a sky scraper and we go down with him. I think I heard Jacque say The Grace. The size of the screen and the way it portrays depth does make you feels like you are falling down. At this point Joram went like, “F*cking hell!”

I didn’t expect the IMAX screen to have much difference from the normal 3D screen. I only thought the difference would be in the size of the screen. But the most amazing thing about IMAX is that people in the movie seem like they are just right there before you. You feel like you can reach over and smack the smug off Loki’s (the villain’s) face. You are right there with these folks. Thanks to IMAX I got an eyeful of Scarlett Johanssson – from her beautiful face to her shapely behind.

The storyline is fantastic and the acting, sublime. Each role was acted out perfectly. Special tribute goes to Robert Downey Jr., Mark Fuffalo (The Hulk), Scarlett Johansson, Tome Hiddleston (Loki) and Samuel L. Jackson. These guys were phenomenal.

It’s not every day you come across a movie that is so action packed and extremely humorous at the same time. The conceited and sarcastic nature of Stark (Robert Downey) and some clever lines spread throughout the movie will make you laugh so hard popcorn will end up in your nose. I am yet to find the will to watch another movie after the IMAX experience. I’m afraid I might start crying.

I hereby wish the writers, producers, directors, cast and anyone else involved in the success of The Avengers, not forgetting all the brilliant minds behind IMAX technology, a long and happy life so that they come up with more dazzling stuff.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. Mercy
    May 7, 2012 at 10:02 am

    Ok off to the cinemas i go, i am convinced now…coz the hype on this avengers is just crazy! cant wait 🙂

    • May 10, 2012 at 11:22 am

      Believe me it’s not just hype. Make sure you watch it.

  2. thatguy
    May 7, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Fucking hell, boss. that shiet was the shiet! and Scarlett, Scarlett, Scarlett! Scarlett for president! boss, there is already a list of the movies that we shall only watched at IMAX

    • May 10, 2012 at 11:24 am

      Ok relax… you’ll get a heart attack. I need to see the list.

  3. Sikalili
    May 8, 2012 at 8:36 am

    now im super excited to try out IMAX!!!!! it feels like an out of this world experience really looking forward to it

    • May 10, 2012 at 11:26 am

      Lily, when Nyali Cinemax came up with 3D you peeps were untouchable… hehe. You have not lived until you’ve had the IMAX experience.

  4. Sarah.
    May 10, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    Tried the IMAX thing for the first time 6 years ago to see what they hype was all about & I agree with you: It’s amazing.

  5. May 23, 2012 at 9:01 am

    The most vivid experience is when Will Smith, in the MIB3 trailer, dives down the skyscrapper….. It’s like when you dream you are falling! …. and MIB 3 opens this FRIDAY!!!!! I can’t wait!

    • May 23, 2012 at 4:50 pm

      Benjaps you got that right!! I think I was actually referring to MIB3 when Will jumps! Must watch for sure.

  6. Liberty
    August 21, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    I’m so freaking jealous:( I’m in coasto but i’ll make a point of going to Nai & checking out I MAX for myself!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

