Home > Uncategorized > Blank mind

Blank mind

It is every blogger’s wish that whatever he/she writes turns out to be the best thing to have happened to humanity since Kentucky Fried Chicken. We hope that our work would be shared all over the globe and readers would fall in love with it. However, that is not always the case. Most people just don’t give a hoot. As far as they are concerned, so long as it does not put bread on their tables, the writer and his article can as well go conserve the environment. So you can imagine my amazement last Monday when I checked the stats for the day’s post and it had quite a significant number of views. By 5pm the post had more views than the average views I get in a whole week.

WordPress has this new feature that allows you to see which countries your viewers are from and the post had viewers from as far as Iceland and Russia! As in despite that biting cold, somewhere in Russia was a dude/chick just chilling with a glass of vodka reading joeytales? (you know how folks like their drink chilled so they have it on the rocks? In Russia and Iceland it’s the opposite. The bartender puts your drink in the microwave to defrost before serving you). Anyway, cheers my freezing readers.

Problem now is that I have to try and keep up the quality that got the blog so many views. It would not be fair for Mr. Vladimir to wipe the ice off his laptop and go to joeytales then find a crappy post. Now the pressure is on. You’ve already noticed that this week’s article is unusually short. Trust me, it’s not because I figured I better summarize it before and Icelander turns into an iceberg; the truth is that everything I’ve tried putting down ended up sounding so boring you would have more fun reading the laws of physics.

Folks, I just couldn’t come up with anything interesting this week. My mind simply refused to function. Not even coffee or redbull could jump-start it. As I write this it’s 10pm on Sunday and I am frustrated. I have tried three different ideas but I’ve had to drop them halfway through after I started dozing off. Only a man suffering from ED would understand the predicament I’m in. I feel like going all psycho on this laptop. But the laptop is innocent; it’s my mind that has failed me. I wonder if that’s how it feels being senile. You know, the way in the movies old folks just chill on the balcony staring into space. You would push his wheelchair into a club and he would still maintain that blank stare. That’s how I feel right now.

I could use a guest post. If you can come up with an interesting article that you would like to share, send it to me on the address joeytales@gmail.com. If I like it I will publish it. Do not worry, I will not pass it as my own and claim that I suddenly got an epiphany. I will give you the credit.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Sarah.
    March 19, 2012 at 8:21 am

    Read last week’s post all the way from Canada & the feminist part of me is still formulating a come-back to such an unrealistic expectation of women…
    Keep the stories coming. Blank mind ishindwe kabisa.

    • March 19, 2012 at 8:29 am

      Do Canadians now learn Kiswahili as a second language? Hehe. Jeez how are you coping with the winter there? Anyway Sarah why don’t you formulate that come-back and send it to me and I could post it. And no, expecting a lady to carry a lip balm is not in the least bit unrealistic.

      • Sarah.
        March 21, 2012 at 6:29 am

        Yep, Swahili is slowly becoming an international language 🙂 Coping with winter is a one-day-at-a-time thing. Although -35 degrees celsius in my neck of the woods is more tolerable than 35 degrees.
        As for the come-back, i wish I could say something witty like “challenge accepted” and then actually type it up & send it. But, I leave the writing to you Joey. So you better come with more tales 😉
        I am watching this space…

  2. No 1 fan
    March 19, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Try writing about ladies again:-) just a thot

  3. Mercy
    March 19, 2012 at 11:58 am

    No…u should now write about our expectations of men…now that would be unrealistic :-), let me try jot down sth for guest writer…hahahaha as if! all the best guests….

    • March 19, 2012 at 12:06 pm

      C’mon Mercy I know you can come up with something… An article about men should only come from a chick.

  4. e.c
    March 19, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    how does writing bout a friend who blew salo on curtains n waits to be mpesa’d by her old man?….sme onr says u should write bout chica…..

  1. June 4, 2012 at 10:04 am

Leave a Reply

